Gandhi's Legacy For Indian Politics After Independence. Essay

Length: 3 pages Sources: 1 Subject: History - Asian Type: Essay Paper: #53761125 Related Topics: Civil Disobedience, Autobiography, Politics, Imprisonment
Excerpt from Essay :

¶ … Gandhi's personal popularity among the Indian peasantry from 1915-22?

Mahatma Gandhi rose to popularity in the Indian political space especially among the peasantry population. Various factors related to his early and late political life played some role in catapulting his popularity among the Indian peasantry. During that period, the peasants suffered massively from the ruling political regime. The Indian population was subjected to unfair treatment by the British colonial government. During this period, the peasants had one goal of eliminating the famous Tinkhathia system. The system represented the obligatory involvement the peasants where they would surrender part of their farm holdings and proceeds to the Britons without any proper form of proper compensation. Besides, they also sought to initiate an uprising that would end the exploitation by the British planters in the form of tax payments. Not only was their suffering limited to the exploitation by the British colonial government but also the peasant's quality of life was poor. The need to improve their situations was inevitable (Gandhi 662).

In 1916, a farmer from Champaran who was unable to handle the oppressions approached Gandhi. Gandhi promised Shukla to visit Champaran and provide a solution after he had seen the situation himself. Gandhi visited Champaran in 1917. Gandhi consulted lawyers who were willing to help him in relieving the peasant farmers from their oppression. It is during his visit at Champaran that his popularity grew among the Indian peasant farmers of Champaran peasants. Gandhi interacted with over 2000 villages at Champaran. His works spread everywhere...

...

Gandhi's involvement in the activities of the peasant population was mainly centred on seeking of truths regarding the exploitations in Champaran region. Gandhi confronted officials like the Secretary of the Planters' Association known as Mr. Wilson. Although he hesitated responding to Gandhi's effort, Gandhi did not give up. He strongly proclaimed that he had the right to fight for the rights of the Indian people in whatever capacity he could. Gandhi popularity rose among the peasants because of his open confrontations techniques with officials of the plantations (Gandhi 707).

Gandhi's arrival in his hometown while seeking education marked the beginning of his popularity especially among the peasant populations who regarded him as a saviour in times of need. Gandhi's core objective was to come up with the most appropriate steps to help him eradicate the problems and situations that faced his people. During the given period, the peasants especially in the Bihar region faced huge exploitation from the British farmers in the form of indigo cultivation. The British government had taken control of the land and cultivation of sugar cane that was originally a possession of the Indians in the region. The British government ignored any previous pleas and legislation originating from the Indians. The government continued to favour the planters. In fact, the government established even more laws to exploit the peasants, which required the peasants to increase the portion…

Sources Used in Documents:

Works Cited

Gandhi, M.K. An Autobiography: The Story of My Experiments with Truth. Translated by Mahadev Desai. The Floating Press, 2009. Print


Cite this Document:

"Gandhi's Legacy For Indian Politics After Independence " (2015, May 10) Retrieved January 20, 2022, from
https://www.paperdue.com/essay/gandhi-legacy-for-indian-politics-after-2151230

"Gandhi's Legacy For Indian Politics After Independence " 10 May 2015. Web.20 January. 2022. <
https://www.paperdue.com/essay/gandhi-legacy-for-indian-politics-after-2151230>

"Gandhi's Legacy For Indian Politics After Independence ", 10 May 2015, Accessed.20 January. 2022,
https://www.paperdue.com/essay/gandhi-legacy-for-indian-politics-after-2151230

Related Documents
Indian-Israeli Relations Valuable to India's
Words: 9235 Length: 26 Pages Topic: History - Asian Paper #: 99898853

' Indians across the political spectrum, especially the country's powerful nuclear weapons establishment, are critical of the NPT, arguing that it unfairly warps international hierarchies to the disadvantage of the non-nuclear-weapon states" (1998:15). In its efforts to balance the pressures from the international community with its own self-interests in formulating foreign policies, the position adopted by India has been starkly different than other countries. In this regard, Karp concludes that,

Mahatama Gandhi
Words: 655 Length: 2 Pages Topic: Political Science / Politics Paper #: 95292861

Gandhi The year 2019 marked the 150th birthday of the “Father of the Indian Nation,” Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi (1869- 1948), who is remembered as one among the key figures of India’s twentieth-century independence struggle. Several commemorative events were observed in the country as well as abroad in celebration of his legacy of a peaceful struggle against British colonialism and India’s ultimate freedom from colonial rule. One simply cannot underestimate the motivation provided by

India's Emerging Power Foreign Economic
Words: 6660 Length: 24 Pages Topic: History - Asian Paper #: 73913834

During the 1980s, to help spotlight international concern regarding the unprecedented nuclear arms race, India joined the Six-Nation Five-Continent joint. Amidst India's resolve to maintain its commitment to nuclear disarmament, it consistently opposed discriminatory treaties like the Nuclear non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT) and Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty (CTBT); holding its nuclear options while other countries hold their nuclear weapons/options (India's Foreign Policy… 2010). Another contemporary concern involves the fact that different departments report different

1500 History of World Societies
Words: 870 Length: 3 Pages Topic: History - Asian Paper #: 40673914

The British created a well-educated, English-speaking Indian elite middle class d. new jobs were created for millions of Indian hand-spinner and hand-weavers The Indian National Congress can best be described in which of the following ways: Answer: a. An Indian Civil Service that administered British rule. b. A group of upper-caste professionals seeking independence from Britain. c. white settlers who administered British rule. d. anglicized Indians who were the social equals of white rulers. Under the

South Asia
Words: 1623 Length: 5 Pages Topic: History - Asian Paper #: 91933656

Raj What impact did British rule have in South Asia in the political, economic and social arenas, especially during the period of formal rule under the Crown (1857-1947)? Social unrest, political instability and fragmentation, and economic transformations led to the dismantling of the East India Company and the instatement of Crown Rule in 1858. The period during which Crown Rule, known colloquially as the Raj, was first established was known as the

Salman Rushdie's Midnight's Children in Terms of Postmodernity
Words: 3835 Length: 12 Pages Topic: Mythology Paper #: 13663173

Salman Rushdie is one of the most famous authors of the modern era. In the tradition of Gabriel Marquez, Rushdie sweeps the reader up in his novel, Midnights Children, like the book by Marquez that obviously had a great deal of influence on Rushdie, One Hundred Years of Solitude, Midnights Children is a postmodern look at the modern fairytale that Salman Rushdie weaves for those who wish to pick up